A 700-acre Demeter certified 650A Biodynamic farm in central Columbia County, NY

Past Events View Upcoming Events

Life in Our Midst: Creating Truly Healthy Food

Thu, Feb 19

A Public Lecture by Dr. Hubert Karreman Dr. Karreman will offer a public lecture as part of Hawthorne Valley Farm’s… Read more

Heritage Wheat in the Hudson Valley

Sat, Feb 21

Steffen Schneider, Director of Farm Operations at Hawthorne Valley, will be a panelist at Heritage Wheat in the Hudson Valley, a panel… Read more

The Future of Food: A Movie & Talk for Everyone Who Eats

Wed, Apr 29

Genetically Modified Organisms – What are they and why should you know when you are eating them? Join Mettabee Farm… Read more

May Day Celebration and Spring Faire

Sat, May 2

Calling all knights and ladies in waiting, jesters and jugglers, musicians, magicians, and merrymakers! Immerse yourself in the days of… Read more

Paul Winter: Adventures in SoundPlay Workshop

Fri, May 22

SOLD OUT! We are very excited to welcome Paul Winter to Hawthorne Valley. His Adventures in SoundPlay workshop offers participants the experience… Read more

Hawthorne Valley Farm Store Grand Re-Opening

Sun, Jun 28

Come celebrate the completion of the Farm Store expansion at our Grand Reopening on Sunday, June 28 from 9am to… Read more

Declaration of Interdependence: A Celebration of Education, Agriculture and the Arts

Sat, Jul 11

Join us on July 11th at 6pm for Hawthorne Valley’s Declaration of Interdependence as we celebrate 43 years of work… Read more

Public Lecture: Steiner and Kindred Spirits with Robert McDermott

Fri, Sep 18

Join us as Robert McDermott, Ph.D., discusses his newest book Steiner and Kindred Spirits, which places Steiner and his work in… Read more

Steiner and Kindred Spirits Workshop

Sat, Sep 19

Participants will dig deeper into selected chapters from Steiner and Kindred Spirits in this half-day workshop with Robert McDermott. In… Read more

3rd Annual Let’s Moove 5K Walk & Run

Sat, Sep 26

Join us for an off-road 5K race through beautiful pastoral fields and woods! New course this year! This family friendly… Read more

21st Annual Hawthorne Valley Fall Festival

Sun, Oct 11

Save the date for our 21st annual celebration of agriculture, ecology, education, and place! Fun for all ages! This year’s… Read more

38th Annual Yuletide Fair

Sat, Dec 5

Join us for our 38th annual Yuletide Fair as we celebrate the holiday season! The school assembly hall will be… Read more

Biophilia and Biomimicry with Bill Browning

Fri, Jan 22

Hawthorne Valley welcomes Bill Browning to the Hudson Valley! Join us as Bill discusses Terrapin Bright Green’s latest work and… Read more

Community Wellness Expo 2016

Sat, Mar 5

Join us for the 2016 Community Wellness Expo at Hawthorne Valley, promoting alternative wellness remedies and activities. This is an… Read more

Spring Soirée & Auction

Sat, Apr 2

Join us for an evening celebration at the Historic Hudson Lodge featuring dancing with live entertainment from The Lucky 5… Read more

The National: Benefit Concert for Hawthorne Valley + MASS MoCA

Sat, Jun 11

Co-presented with Higher Ground Presents. The Ohio-raised, Brooklyn-based band, The National consists of vocalist Matt Berninger plus two pairs of… Read more

Let’s Moove 5K Walk & Run 2016

Sat, Sep 24

Join us on Saturday, September 24th for the 4th annual Let’s Moove 5K Walk & Run! The first 100 registrants… Read more

22nd Annual Hawthorne Valley Fall Festival

Sun, Oct 9

Join us, rain or shine, on Sunday, October 9 from 10am to 4pm for our annual celebration of the harvest… Read more

Introduction to Veterinary Anthroposophical Medicine

Thu, Nov 3

A Seminar with Are Thorensen Co-sponsored by the Chi-Institute and the Institute for Mindful Agriculture Where: Hawthorne Valley Farm Learning Center… Read more

Hawthorne Valley Farm & Art Exhibit at La MaMa La Galleria

Mon, Nov 10

An art exhibition featuring artists of Hawthorne Valley October 29 to November 15 Gallery Hours: Wednesday thru Sunday,  1 to… Read more

Walking the Living Land: Roeliff Jansen Park

Sat, Sep 20

Join an ecologist, artist and anthropologist for an afternoon’s exploration of local habitats in the Roeliff Jansen Park! The Farmscape… Read more

Artists’ Reception at La MaMa La Galleria

Wed, Nov 5

Join us in New York City for a celebration of Hawthorne Valley Farm and Art! Meet our artists and view… Read more

Walking the Living Land: Drowned Lands Swamp

Sun, Sep 7

Join an ecologist, artist and anthropologist for an afternoon’s exploration of local habitats at Drowned Lands Swamp! The Farmscape Ecology… Read more

Community Wellness Day 2015

Sat, Mar 7

Join us for the 2015 Community Wellness Expo at Hawthorne Valley, promoting alternative wellness remedies and activities. This is an… Read more

Walking the Living Land: Schor Conservation Area

Sat, Sep 6

Join an ecologist, artist and anthropologist for an afternoon’s exploration of local habitats at Schor Conservation Area! The Farmscape Ecology… Read more

Walking the Living Land Outing: Greenport Conservation Area

Sat, Aug 30

Join an ecologist, artist and anthropologist for an afternoon’s exploration of local habitats in the Greenport Conservation Area! The Farmscape… Read more

Yuletide Fair

Sat, Dec 6

Join us at our 37th annual Yuletide Fair as we celebrate the holiday season! The school assembly hall will be… Read more

Walking the Living Land Outings: Hawthorne Valley Farm

Sat, Aug 23

Join an ecologist, artist and anthropologist for an afternoon’s exploration of local habitats at Hawthorne Valley Farm! The Farmscape Ecology… Read more

WKZE Live Remote from Farm Store

Fri, Jul 25

Hawthorne Valley Farm Store and WKZE 98.1 radio are partnering again this summer in the ‘Fill Your Fridge With Healthy… Read more

Evening Talk: Hedgerow Medicine for People & Pollinators

Thu, Apr 10

Through a colorful and inspiring slideshow, Deb Soule from Avena Botanicals will share her experiences of growing, collecting and using… Read more

Spring Flower Walk: Douglas Knob, private land in New Lebanon

Sun, Apr 27

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program in welcoming spring during a leisurely walk to… Read more

Spring Flower Walk: Floodplain Forest on Hawthorne Valley Farm

Sat, May 3

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program in welcoming spring during a leisurely early-morning walk… Read more

Organic: Farmers and Chefs of the Hudson Valley

Sat, Dec 13

Join us for an afternoon with photographer Francesco Mastalia. Francesco will talk about the genesis of his new book Organic,… Read more

Spring Flower Walk: Floodplain Forest on private land in Chatham Center

Sun, May 11

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program for a leisurely walk in the floodplain of… Read more

Spring Flower Walk: No-Bottom-Pond (Beebe State Forest), Austerlitz

Sun, May 18

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program for a leisurely (but somewhat long) walk through… Read more

Ecology Walk: Firetower (Beebe State Forest), Austerlitz

Sun, Jun 1

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program for a climb up the hill and a… Read more

Ecology Walk: Sunset Rock (Taconic State Park), Copake

Sun, Jun 15

Join Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program for leisurely walk along the Taconic Ridge trail.… Read more

Community Wellness Expo

Sat, Mar 8

Here at Hawthorne Valley we have the perfect cure for Cabin Fever! Join us for our Community Wellness Expo, on… Read more

Eric Müller Booksigning

Sat, Dec 21

Eric Müller will be signing copies of his new book, The Invisible Boat, in the Hawthorne Valley Farm Store. Copies… Read more

Say Cheese: Mastering Quick Mozzarella

Sat, Jan 18

Start the new year with a fun day of stretching mozzarella. We will see the process from start to finish… Read more

Say Cheese: Making Cheddar

Sat, Feb 8

Winter is “cheddar weather.” Come in from the cold and join Peter Kindel, Hawthorne Valley Farm’s cheesemaker, for a day… Read more

Hawthorne Valley Waldorf School Yuletide Fair

Sat, Dec 7

Join us at our annual Yuletide Fair as we celebrate the holiday season! The school assembly hall will be transformed… Read more

Give the Gift of Cheese!

Sun, Dec 15

Who doesn’t want cheese for Christmas? Come join Hawthorne Valley Farm’s cheese maker, Peter Kindel, for a day of hands-on… Read more

Winter Exploration at the Keep Conservation Preserve in Germantown

Sat, Nov 16

Join ecologists Claudia and Conrad Vispo from the Hawthorne Valley Farmscape Ecology Program for a leisurely walk through the fields… Read more

Say Cheese: Beyond Mozzarella – Burratta!

Sat, Nov 16

Burratta is a truly decadent cheese from Italy – imagine cream-filled mozzarella. Come join Peter Kindel, Hawthorne Valley Farm cheesemaker,… Read more

Let’s Moove 5K Walk & Run 2014

Sat, Sep 27

Join us on Saturday, September 27th for the second annual Let’s Moove 5K Walk & Run! Enjoy pastoral views of… Read more

20th Annual Hawthorne Valley Fall Festival

Sun, Oct 12

Come celebrate 20 years of the Hawthorne Valley Fall Festival! Save the Date – Sunday, October 12, 2014 from 10am… Read more